Log entry 4 – Sophia

In the weeks rehearsals we focused on the detail and scale of each scene. We tried to make each scene bigger because we are loosing the vocals and gestures, especially in the quieter scenes. I think some of us are still finding it difficult to make certain scenes bigger, including myself because it is difficult to turn up the volume of quiet moments without it being shouty and loosing the emotion behind the text. In some scenes this worked really well, but we still have a lot of room for improvement in other scenes with the scale of the performance. For example in ‘Did you find anything’ I am finding it difficult to turn up the volume of my voice without it sounding fake and I feel like certain words that I am saying are being lost behind the voices in the actual film. I think this week we all did fairly well with the detail of each scene, now that we are learning each scene in more depth we are getting a sense of rhythm in our movements and gestures. I think the more we go over each scene it will just turn into something we do without having to think to deeply about what comes next. Although, I do feel a sense of danger having the film up on screen because many of us are relying on the film to show us when to turn, shake our head or move etc. I think for now it’s fine because we are still learning what needs to be done when and where but because it’s always up on the back wall it’s easy to look at it for help instead of learn it in detail in ours heads.

We added three new scenes at the end of the week and set them pretty quickly and efficiently in terms of camera work and operating. I’m really enjoying playing a few of the over the top roles in scenes because I find it much easier to put emotion into what I’m saying. I think now we all know how to put together the scenes and what needs to go into it, we are working a lot faster and better as a group to complete them. We also figured out each scene change between the scenes so we all are clear on where we need to be next and what needs to be moved in terms of set. I think we all found this really helpful because it made scene changes run a lot smoother than they originally had done before and also we had a much clearer picture of how it would run as a performance.

Now we have got most of the scenes we are getting a sense of narrative in the piece, instead of it being fragmented pieces of a story we are seeing a much clearer picture. I think once we have all of the scenes we will be performing it will be a lot easier to put more emotion behind the story as a whole because we can see the journey each of the characters take throughout the piece.

I think what we need to focus on in our next rehearsals is the clarity of our vocals, we all need to be confident within our text to be able to put that focus in at a high level. I also think we need to push ourselves and not be afraid of something being to big or loud because we can always change it if it doesn’t work, but I think some of us are holding back in some scenes vocally and I think we should push it up a notch. I also think, more as a personal note because I am unsure if anyone else does it to, but I know I need to stop relying on the original film to cue my movements and I need to really remember and take on board each movement so I can perform it with confidence without looking at what I am doing.

One thought on “Log entry 4 – Sophia

  1. I agree with the attention to detail in terms of performance mode that we are currently having to undertake- I think as we get further in to the project we will get a really good sense of the requirements and implications of the mode of performance. Yes, the narrative is definitely emerging now and we need to pay attention as to what we add and how this illuminates the story telling. Vocal work will indeed be crucial- particularly as we take away the voices of the original.

    Like

Leave a comment